The Imprisoned Splendor

National-Geographic-Photo-Contest-2013-07

Truth is within ourselves; it takes no rise

From outward things, whatever you may believe.

There is an inmost center in us all,

Where truth abides in fullness; and around,

Wall upon wall, the gross flesh hems it in,

This perfect, clear perception – which is truth.

 

A baffling and perverting carnal mesh

Binds it, and makes all error; and to know

Rather consists in opening out a way

Whence the imprisoned splendor may escape,

Than in effecting entry for a light

Supposed to be without.

 

—-Robert Browning

 

…ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free (John 8:32)

 

The more I clear away the wreckage of my past, the more I meditate on love, truth, and service to others, the more I listen to others’ pain and search for a solution to help them…

The more happy, content, and full of…nothing…I am. Nothing at all. No thoughts, no worries, anxiety, stress, fear, lies, anger, rage, resentment, judgment, guilt, shame, remorse…nothing…just moment after moment as life unfolds in front of my eyes and all around me.

To know this is to have gone through something that tested every part of the self, the old self, the one that only existed to take from other people that which it wanted, and without any regard for how it would affect others. Pain is a great teacher, motivator, and changer. Without pain why would anyone want to change what they are doing? Pain exists for the sole reason of changing human behavior to be more in tune with what is good, right, positive in life: health, love, prosperity, safety. Without pain life would not be what it is, and would be nothing but out of control chaos.

What is THE truth? The one and absolute truth? What is that bible verse saying when it says: “the truth”. Each and everyone of us, deep down inside at the “inmost center”, is our own individual truth. No matter what you believe in, even if you believe in worshipping the devil just as Christians worship Christ…it doesn’t matter. The truth will make it’s way to the light one way or another despite the human mind’s petty pathetic attempt to understand that which something so small and immature CANNOT completely understand.

The truth inside of me is slowly coming out, and as it does I embrace it. I accept whatever will be will be. I understand that I may not ever fully comprehend what this truth is and the meaning of this life and why I am still here. All I can do is pray, asking for guidance and the power to reach others who need help, and not shrink when the opportunity arises. I am still working on amends to the people I have hurt, and I am still doing a daily inventory making sure I stay spiritually sound and fit. With so much trouble in the world, it is my duty as a human being to be ready when the call for a higher purpose arises.

And if you think I am being too religious or too cuckoo about spirituality…

I will politely ask you to take a trip into the darkness with no money and no shelter, with only the clothes on your back, and come out the other side still alive, sane, and willing to deal with this cold and cruel world. Only then can you talk about what is religious, spiritual, and true.

And So It Goes…143

Leave a comment