Compassion: The Latest Fashion

Maybe another person could have lived through the same experiences and weathered the storm with fewer scars to show for it, and maybe not.

Whatever the reason, sometimes a person is so angry and so defensive, they can’t fathom the motivation for kindness or compassion. Your attempts to reassure, to be caring and loving might be met with contempt. Because what you’re asking when you open your arms and move toward a person who’s backed into a corner, is for their trust.

And for some people, the thought of that is terrifying. That’s a language they don’t understand. Everything is perceived as an attack, and instead of love, they work with control and manipulation. Basically, some people are too hurt or too scared to love. It doesn’t mean there’s no hope, it just means they have a lot of healing to do, and they either will or they won’t get to it.

-Anonymous

460__9167333

Whether I am in the grocery store, the mall, Walmart, or a restaurant, I notice many things that affect my heart and I don’t know why. I guess I am just observant, maybe overly so, but nevertheless I look at the faces of people and I catch their eyes for just a moment then lose them. But I feel their pain,  I feel their sadness, I feel whatever they are going through. Up until now I felt crazy because of this and held it in thinking that if I said this I would be labeled weird or be judged for it. When I hold things in I die, pure and simple, and I am lucky to be alive today because yesterday was scary the way I used to think and act. I do not know where this comes from or why I am so sensitive to other people’s energy. All I do know is that I have been through hell and made it out to the other side burned but unbroken. Maybe that is it, the reason why I have so much compassion and empathize to the point of assimilating in my mind other people’s problems and pain.

You walked with me
Footprints in the sand
And helped me understand
Where I’m going

You walked with me
When I was all alone
With so much unknown
Along the way

Who knows, everyone says God only knows yet the people who say that do not understand THEIR God so I don’t trust it. My God, which is really just my understanding of that Power (capital P), is LOVE and TRUTH. These are the principles of God that mean the most to me. When I am living and practicing both principles in my life, I am well and my family and friends are well. If they are not, I am able to be there for them in a way that I couldn’t without LOVE and TRUTH.

Then I heard you say

Look around you. Watch the news and see the tragedies and war and famine and depression and planetary suicide that is happening all around us…

What do you feel when you see that? What crosses your mind in thought?

 I promise you
I’m always there
When your heart is filled with sorrow and despair
I’ll carry you
When you need a friend
You’ll find my footprints in the sand

Everyone is either going into a storm, are in a storm, or are coming out of one only to go into another one down the road. A great friend and spiritual mentor Michael C. of Sandwich, Cape Cod used to say: “Everyone is fighting a great battle. How can we be anything BUT compassionate?” This is a quote taken from a Buddhist but no one really has a patent on words anyways. The knowledge we have has been used already before us, just passed down and said differently. Be compassionate…be loving…be kind…and if you cannot be any of these then be silent. Hold in your pain until you are ready to break down and crash…God will be there waiting for you with trust and faith that EVERYTHING WILL BE OKAY.
I see my life
Flash across the sky
So many times have I been so afraid

And just when I
I thought I’d lost my way
You gave me strength to carry on

When I interact with this world, I have to keep in mind the truth that not everyone is on the spiritual path and not everyone is happy, peaceful, and content with life as I am trying to be on a daily basis. I have to realize that some are angry, very angry, with something that happened to them. To them I secretly send love through thought which is a causative force, I think of what love is and I send it to them as if it was a telepathic telegram into their black hearts, or scarred brains, and hug them mentally. I imagine love entering their life in the future, maybe in the form of a friend, a lover, a puppy, SOMETHING to interrupt the evil and the fear that has taken over their life and created HELL ON EARTH.

That’s when I heard you say

I promise you
I’m always there
When your heart is filled with sorrow and despair
And I’ll carry you
When you need a friend

Thy Kingdom come, thy will be done IN EARTH AS IT IS IN HEAVEN and HELL!

I grew up Catholic, and that means I grew up afraid of God and afraid of the truth. I remember being so scared as pictured the flames, the red walls, the evil demons tearing me in half over and over (I had a vivid imagination as a child) Even that did not stop me from committing crime and doing evil deeds. Fear used to control others behavior is the lowest form of insanity and cruelty. When I ran from the Catholic cult I ran into the devil’s arms. He gave me a warm hug and welcomed me to paradise. All I had to do was be selfish, lie, seek out only things for my self regardless of how it affected others like my family, and use fear against others as much as possible. The pain I caused is…

You’ll find my footprints in the sand
When I’m weary
Well I know you’ll be there
And I can feel you
When you say

I promise you
Oh, I’m always there
When your heart is filled with sadness and despair
I’ll carry you
When you need a friend
You’ll find my footprints in the sand

Years and years of running scared nearly killed me. I am one grateful grapefruit to still be alive and somewhat healthy after slowly killing myself for so long. I watched such good people, good souls, wither away into nothing and fade away into darkness. That eternal darkness of death that rips a person from your life I will forever respect and stay FAR away from as long as I pray and do God’s will.

You’ll find my footprints in the sand
When I’m weary
Well I know you’ll be there
And I can feel you
When you say

God…what is God? Who is God? We use He or She or It to describe God because the English dictionary is limiting and that is the best it can do with words. Regardless of what we call God, the point is not in trying to define God or figured out who created the world or why God this or that…the point is to manifest the purest principles that are connected with God and bringing them to the world around us, Earth, our home. Why are we living like roommates, sharing a house together but not talking and not even acknowledging one another as we pass by? It is because so many people are in too much pain to even look up and trust that the person walking by won’t hurt them anymore than they have already been hurt. I think of all the kids who barely make it out of their childhood, abused mentally and physically to the point of medication and psych wards, and society judges them or doesn’t even care to recognize them…and we wonder why the world is so crazy. I recognize them, and I am there for them. Are you with me?

You’ll find my footprints in the sand
When I’m weary
Well I know you’ll be there
And I can feel you
When you say

I promise you
Oh, I’m always there
When your heart is filled with sadness and despair
I’ll carry you
When you need a friend
You’ll find my footprints in the sand

-Leona Lewis

Leave a Reply

