Casualties of War

Locked in a constant battle with an enemy I can’t defeat.
His strength is never ending impossible to beat.
Waging this war against him has brought heroes to their knees.
Those who oppose his reign of terror become casualties.
Confusion and chaos are his weapons of war always on the attack.
Taking no prisoners, sparing no lives, never looking back.
His strategy always calculated whereas I can only guess.
Clouded is the battlefield as I search for wounds to mend.
Sifting through the wreckage looking for a fallen friend.
My enemies face appears to me and things become much clearer.
All the while this war was fought standing before a mirror.
My defenses are no match for an enemy such as he.
I have finally come to realize-that the enemy is me.

anonymous author

20131107-174414.jpg

Leave a Reply

