Voice Inside

Mike Sussman

Mike Sussman

It’s been a lonely road these past years

Now as time goes by and I think

Sometimes the pain of it all brings me to tears

Worried often of the road ahead and where it will lead

I set forth on my adventure with high hopes

While being cautious of people, and of dopes

I am hopeful my spirituality will guide me

My heart, and soul, and sober mind intact

I hope to stay off butts, and avoid a heat attack

Through these troubling times of mine that I’ve caused

I hope one day that I can stop, pause, and enjoy freedom

I’m much too worn out to live a destructive life like this

What I want now is to be loved – to come home to a kiss

In time the truth will be told – I will survive.

Anonymous Inmate

From “The Voice Inside

Leave a Reply

