Being on the Other Side Of Down: Asperger Syndrome

By: Agent 007

 Black Sheep

Have you or anyone you ever known had a mental illness known as Asperger’s Syndrome? Which is in fact a form of Autism. I know someone – myself. I have Asperger’s Syndrome and this is my story to finally gain a control over this mental illness and also help someone else. I’ve learned to cope and deal with Asperger’s on a day to day basis.

Asperger’s Syndrome is a mental illness that is becoming much more common in our society and yet society does not understand it. The mental illness was named after an Austrian physician known as Hans Asperger. He had studied many cases that involved children with a high lack of nonverbal skills. Another symptom of Asperger’s Syndrome is the consistency in repetitive words or actions, physical clumsiness, obsessions and lack of communication with peers. It is unknown what causes Asperger’s Syndrome. No man or woman that I know of has the answer to this question that today still baffles even doctors!

I myself have learned to deal with many of these issues at hand. But let me just say it was not an easy ride. Looking back on my life there could have been one of two causes that lead to me having Asperger’s. One reason could’ve been that I was born with it.

 

Another reason is that I was abused at the young age of three. My birth parents had been arguing about something, and the next thing you know I was on the ground crying my eyes out in pain. The social workers came and took my brother and I away. Soon after I  was scanned and tested and the doctors told me I was fine. However, there were bruise marks from my legs to my upper back. I was also very unresponsive to anyone who talked to me.

Soon after that situation with my birth parents, I was placed into foster care. I thought I had escaped the abuse from my birth family. I was wrong.

I was abused yet again by a very evil woman named Ruth. She was one of my many foster care placements Ruth did worse things than what my birth family did to me. Which put me in even more traumatic stress. Because I also was labeled with PTSD, or Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder. After years of going through hell, I was finally moved into an adoptive family that loved me.

When I moved in with my new family, which is where I got my last name, this is when we figured out that I have Asperger’s. We were sitting at the dinner table as any normal family would do, but this was a very strange dinner. So strange it made my adoptive family worry for me and my mental well being

It happened when they were trying to have a normal conversation about how my day was. I replied with something so random about the flowers that weren’t even in the room. It was as if I was a crazy person. I was also sputtering the most random sentences and not making even the slightest sense.

Due to my family’s worries about my mental health and well being, they decided to screen me for Asperger’s. The next week my family got me into a hospital known as Butler Hospital. I was there for a full day of testing and left there.

 

 Now this is where things get really interesting.

 

A week later we were called in to figure out the results. They said and I quote their exact words that:” I wouldn’t be able to graduate high school until I was 25 years of age. Or even hold a job at all.” Basically, they were saying I would be a couch potato the rest of my life.

 

But we weren’t going to give up so easily.  We started a process of trying to get me in tune with reality. Also, there was a lot of mental reconstruction, and also assurance that I was safe. I went to school like any other kid.

 

Just because I was abused once – didn’t mean that i wasn’t gonna get abused again. This time it wasn’t by family but by students at school. I was very hurt, wondering why people could be so cruel and mean. I had trust issues and didn’t know who i could or couldn’t trust. It took a lot of strength and courage to let my guard down, and when I did I found my true friends. Thanks to the support from my family, I was able to do prove those doctors wrong!

 

In high school I proved my worth by being the leader I am today.  I proved that you don’t have to be in your own clique to be who you are. Be yourself and keep on fighting.

 

Naturally I was laughed at and teased by many of the students for being different. This lasted well into high school and then some. After many years of being a fighter and never giving up on being the best that I can be, I soon rose way above what the doctors said. I got a job that I have been a model employee at for seven years. I won the title of Associate of the Year in my first year on the job.

 

I won the leadership award at the end of high school, just when I thought that I couldn’t win any awards at the school. I really rose above what the doctors had said when I graduated high school at eighteen. They originally said that I wouldn’t graduate until I was 25! Now I’m going into my last year of college. Ready to graduate once and for all and be able to show the doctors that they were wrong about me.

 

Now that’s not too bad for someone who had been told they wouldn’t make it very far. But it’s all thanks to God’s grace, my adoptive family – my biggest supporters being my parents. who had helped me become the man I am today. Also catching the Asperger’s when we did, and never ever giving up hope or faith that things will turn out well and a willingness to try to gain control over this mental illness. But gaining a sense of control helped me learn to accept this mental illness and embrace it as a part of who I am.

 

If anyone has Asperger’s Syndrome who is reading this article – remember these words I’m about to say:

 

There’s always hope for you. You can do anything you put your mind to.  Never give up on yourself. Because everyone with Asperger’s Syndrome or not has the strength to recover and live the life they should.

 

Leave a Reply

